Make your own free website on
Wokingham Wanderers F.C.
Wanderers 1 Tin Hut Ascot 1
Team Information
Player Profiles
Fixtures / Results
League Table
Match Reports
Team History

13th April 2003 - Division 4 - Langborough Rec.

Following the disappointment of their controversial defeat against Bracknell Strikers, Wanderers entertained title-challengers Tin Hut Ascot at Langborough.


Wokingham started well and should have taken the lead when Lewis Trusty played Anthony Prior through but the Wanderers top-scorer fluffed his shot.


Shortly afterwards, Scott Ford clipped the top of the crossbar with a well-taken free kick.  Wanderers then hit the woodwork again as Prior muscled his way past the Tin Hut defence and clipped the outside of the post with a right-footed shot.


The Wanderers defence were once again magnificent and reduced Tin Hut to only a few set-piece opportunities in the first half.


Just before the interval Wokingham had another chance as Tom Soane found himself through on goal.  His first shot was saved and when Prior pounced on the rebound to pull the ball back, Soane couldnt connect properly with his volley.


In the second half Wanderers continued to put pressure on the Tin Hut defence and found themselves controlling more of the possession.  Following a poorly cleared corner, Jamie Ryall crossed again for Dan Van der Laan-ODonnell to head past the helpless keeper.


Tin Hut equalised ten minutes later when a long ball over the Blues defence left Mellor with little chance.


Wanderers were able to stamp their authority on the game in the remaining twenty minutes and had further chances, firstly when Tom Soane had a shot saved when through on goal.  Then Soanes header was saved and Prior stretched to get to the rebound first but failed to keep the ball down and it flew over the crossbar.


Wokingham were satisfied with the draw and their performance in this game and also in recent weeks bodes well for next season.


TEAM: Alan Mellor, Chris Hillsdon, Clint Falcus, Dan Van der Laan-O'Donnell, Phil Soane, Chris Orbell, Scott Ford, Lewis Trusty, Jamie Ryall, Anthony Prior, Tom Soane.

SUBS: Alan Pearce (for Trusty), Oliver Bambrough (for Orbell)